Monday, August 22, 2005

Melbourne IT is a popular domain name registrar for spam crooks at myprivateregistration.com

Last week my email inbox had yet another unsolicited financial scam, this time pretending to come from the brother of a Japanese diplomat killed in Iraq earlier this year.
A little quick checking showed that there is no web-site associated with the domain used for the email address (bkysconsortium.com).

Moreover the domain name itself was only registered on the 12th of August, with whois records suggesting that the person supposedly registering that domain has an email address at myprivateregistration.com
But once again there is no web-site at www.myprivateregistration.com and the domain is also very new.
The give away however is the claim that the person who registered this name at domain name registrar, Melbourne IT, is said to be none other than Merlbourne IT Ltd.
Yeah, sure, and my mother has three legs!!!
Indeed it seems that myprivateregistration.com is a very active financial scammer, with the same email contact associated with scams at www.invest3life.com and www.papyal-com-cgi-bin.org
What is the betting that a quick check will reveal Melbourne IT is once again the registrar for these oufits.
It would seem that Melbourne IT's checks on the identity of people registering domain names is non-existent.
You can claim to be anyone from anywhere and they just don't care, as long as you pay the associated fee.

No comments: